How to find us?

Tel. +1 613 567 54 58
Fax +1 613 567 53 15


Created: 2019.05.29 / Updated: 2021.01.21 08:09

Please be informed that as of 22 December 2019, due to rearrangements in the organization of performance of consular functions, the Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania to Canada did not receive and examine applications for Schengen or national visas.

The third-country nationals legally residing in Canada can lodge their visa applications at any Lithuanian visa authority abroad (e.g. to the Consulate General of the Republic of Lithuania in Chicago, or to Visa Application Centers in the United States of America), more detailed information is available on the website of the external service provider.


Informuojame, kad pertvarkant konsulinių funkcijų atlikimo organizavimo tvarką nuo 2019 m. gruodžio 22 d. Lietuvos Respublikos ambasada Kanadoje nepriims ir nenagrinės prašymų išduoti Šengeno ar nacionalinę vizą.

Prašymus išduoti vizą Kanadoje teisėtai gyvenantys trečiųjų valstybių piliečiai galės pateikti bet kuriai Lietuvos vizų tarnybai užsienyje, pvz., LR generaliniame konsulate Čikagoje, arba, pvz., per JAV esančius vizų centrus (platesnė informacija skelbiama išorės paslaugų teikėjo interneto svetainėje).


  • Airport transit visa (A) - a visa valid for transit through the international transit areas of one or more airports of the Schengen Member States.
  • Short-stay visa (C) – a visa valid for transit through or an intended stay in the territory of the Schengen Member States of a duration of no more than 90 days in any 180-day period.
  • What is a Schengen visa?
    Lithuania joined Schengen on 21st Dec 2007. All the short stay visas issued by the Lithuanian Embassy for Lithuania are Schengen visas.

    A Schengen visa allows its bearer entry to the 25 member States of the Schengen area: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Iceland, Norway and Switzerland. It also allows entry to Monaco, Andorra, Lichtenstein and San Marino.

    This visa is generally valid in all Schengen states for a stay of up to 90 days within a six months period for tourism, visit or business but not for employment purposes.


  • National visa – a visa allowing to enter the Republic of Lithuania and stay in it for a period longer than three months.
  • What is a national visa?
    A single entry national visa (D) shall be issued to an alien who has been granted a temporary or permanent residence permit in the Republic of Lithuania.

    A multiple entry national visa (D) shall be issued to an alien whose purpose of entry into the Republic of Lithuania is long term stay in the Republic of Lithuania. A list of cases when the multiple entry national visa can be issued.

  • What is the difference between Schengen visa and national visa?
    Schengen visas are only valid for stays up to 90 days. Any stay longer than 90 days is subject to the rules in place for the applicant’s host country’s national visa.

    NOTE: Aliens who own valid national visas (D) may travel to territories of other Schengen states for a period up to 90 days within any 180-day period.

  • For how long can a national visa be valid?
    A national visa is issued for a period up to one year.

    If a foreigner has applied for a Lithuanian residence permit or has applied to renew the expired residence permit, he is entitled to get a multiple entry national visa for the period of application handling procedures, i.e. until he receives the permit.

  • Can a multiply entry national visa be prolonged?
    If a 1 year multiply enter visa has expired:
    • less than 90 days ago, the foreigner should apply for the residence permit. In this case the foreigner can receive a national visa for the period of application handling procedures.

    • more than 90 days ago, the foreigner can apply for a new multiply entry national visa.

Subscribe to our newsletters